Difference between Bourbon and Whiskey

Difference between Bourbon and Whiskey

Distinguish, differentiate, compare and explain what is the Difference between Bourbon and Whiskey. Comparison and Differences.

What is Bourbon ?

Bourbon is a type of American whiskey, a barrel-aged distilled spirit made primarily from corn. The name is derived from the French Bourbon dynasty, although it is unclear precisely what inspired the whiskey name. Bourbon has been distilled since the 18th century. The use of the term bourbon for the whiskey has been traced to the 1820s, and the term began to be used consistently in Kentucky in the 1870s. All Bourbon is Made in Kentucky About 95% of all bourbon is made in Kentucky, but by definition, bourbon can be distilled anywhere in the US.

What is Whiskey ?

Whiskey is a type of distilled alcoholic beverage made from fermented grain mash. Different grains are used including: barley, malted barley, rye, malted rye, wheat, and corn. Whiskey is typically aged in wooden casks, made generally of charred white oak. Whiskies do not mature in the bottle, only in the cask, so the age of a whisky is only the time between distillation and bottling. After a decade or two, additional aging in a barrel will also not necessarily make a whisky better. Whisky is often chill filtered: chilled to precipitate out fatty acid esters and then filtered to remove them. Most whiskies are bottled this way, unless specified as unchill-filtered or non chill filtered. This is done primarily for cosmetic reasons. Unchill-filtered whiskies will often turn cloudy when stored at cool temperatures or when cool water is added to them.

While all bourbon is whiskey, not all whiskey can bare distinction of being called bourbon whiskey which must adhere to rigid federal regulations. To be designated whiskey, a spirit simply must be distilled from grain at less than 190 proof Blended whiskey, Scotch whisky, Canadian whisky, Irish whiskey and other various kinds of whiskey do not meet these strict rules, and cannot be called bourbon whiskey.

Difference between Bourbon and Whisky

1. Whiskey is an alcoholic beverage distilled from fermented grain mash. Bourbon is a type of a whisky.

2. Whisky is produced in many countries of the world. Bourbon is exclusively produced in the United States.

3. Whiskey is made using different types of grains such as corn, wheat, rye, barley. Bourbon is made of at least 51% of corn.

4. Whiskey is aged in oak barrels. Bourbon is aged in newly charred, white oak barrels.


Difference between Whiskey vs Bourbon

Bourbon vs Whiskey

Differences between Whiskey vs Bourbon

Image Credits: Freepik

Spreading Knowledge Across the World

  • United States
  • United Kingdom
  • India
  • Nigeria
  • Philippines
  • Pakistan
  • Nepal
  • Singapore
  • Indonesia
  • Bangladesh
  • Ghana
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Kenya
  • Canada
  • Malaysia
  • Australia
  • Iran
  • South Africa
  • Uganda
  • France
  • Ireland
  • Unknown Region
  • Egypt
  • Tanzania
  • Ethiopia
  • Thailand
  • Sri Lanka
  • Cameroon
  • Hong Kong
  • Spain
  • Vietnam
  • New Zealand
  • Japan
  • Brazil
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Zambia
  • Czechia
  • Italy
  • Russia
  • Myanmar (Burma)
  • Netherlands
  • Germany
  • Romania
  • Mexico
  • Rwanda
  • Sierra Leone
  • Turkey
  • Zimbabwe
  • Poland
  • Iraq
  • Cyprus
  • Algeria
  • Liberia
  • Greece
  • Jamaica
  • Malawi
  • Qatar
  • Portugal
  • South Korea
  • Argentina
  • Colombia
  • Morocco
  • Peru
  • Kuwait
  • Lithuania
  • Finland
  • Somalia
  • Israel
  • Bulgaria
  • Chile
  • Hungary
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Uzbekistan
  • Ukraine
  • Sweden
  • Kazakhstan
  • Norway
  • Macedonia
  • Benin
  • Switzerland
  • Oman
  • Botswana
  • Belgium
  • Ecuador
  • Slovakia
  • China
  • Croatia
  • Brunei
  • Serbia
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Bahrain
  • Guyana
  • Denmark
  • Lesotho
  • Lebanon
  • Jordan
  • Azerbaijan
  • Latvia
  • Cambodia
  • Namibia
  • Mauritius
  • Austria
  • Mongolia
  • Albania
  • Libya
  • Gambia
  • Taiwan
  • Bhutan
  • Venezuela
  • Dominican Republic
  • Tunisia
  • Luxembourg
  • Bosnia & Herzegovina
  • Guatemala
  • Solomon Islands
  • Guam
  • Costa Rica
  • Yemen
  • Bolivia
  • and many more ...